Its been a long time since I last blogged.

Life has been a little hectic and jerky as of late, that’s probably why I didn’t blog for so much time.

Anyway, I’ve got something to say, so here I am, blogging once again.

I’m an Indian, and as a citizen of this culturally diverse country, I get the opportunity to watch about ten different festivals of different people being celebrated in unison by one and all.

This sight is so common, in fact, that I failed to notice how spectacular a sight it actually is until I learned of the discrimination that is prevalent in the world. The civic sense that I’ve developed recently, along with my peers, has allowed me to see clearly the magic of festivities in India.

In festivals like holinavratridiwali, the people here, stranger to each other interact with each other as though they’ve known each other for years. The time of festivals don’t make us immune to problems in life, of course, but as long as we are in tune with the  festivities, we’re fine. People leave their problems at home and enjoy the proceedings. They don’t just put on a happy face, they genuinely enjoy it. During Navratri, for instance, strangers participate in a group dance termed ‘Garba’, and one with sticks called Dandiya’. I, myself have got the hang of this stuff recently and am loving it. Its simply magical, the amount of fun you have just moving in rythm to a peculiar beat that is all to familiar to us.

Sometimes, I like to move away from all the action to observe all the proceedings and get a kind of third person perspective on things.

Its mesmerising to see the colourfully dressed people moving in unison, with wide smiles on their faces. Even the kids, who can’t even talk properly, have fun at these proceedings along with their peers, who are just as naive. The most fascinating aspect of such gatherings is to observe the people from different religious, cultural and social backgrounds coming together to enjoy themselves, regardless of what their status is. Its a beautiful sight to see people from other religions participating in a festival that is completely contradictory to what the former believes in, in the spirit of brotherhood.

The festivals create an atmosphere comparable to the ideal that our world leaders are aiming at. People don’t discriminate in any way, there are no barriers between the rich and the poor and there aren’t any religious barriers either.

Maybe we should all learn from the behaviour of people in festivals and try to be that nice in normal life.

Signing out,

The Observer.

